Dbvisit Community Dbvisit home       

Go Back   Dbvisit Community > Dbvisit Standby - Technical > Dbvisit Standby - Installation and Upgrades

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2009, 08:18 AM
Mike Donovan Mike Donovan is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 207
Default Setup for multiple standby databases

It is possible to run multiple standby databases off the same primary database with Dbvisit Standby. To setup for multiple standby databases please follow the steps outlined below (which assume that Dbvisit Standby has already been installed and configured to work with a standby database - called w120 in this example):

1. Copy the DDC file on the primary server and give it a new name.
Example:
copy dbv_w120.env dbv_w1202.env
or
cp dbv_w120.env dbv_w1202.env

Where w120 is the name of the database.

2. Edit the new DDC file and change the DESTINATION variable. This must be set to the new standby server that is running the second standby database. Do not change the ORACLE_SID.
Example:
DESTINATION=dbvisit13
Where dbvisit13 is the second standby server.

The first time that Dbvisit Standby is executed for a new standby database, run Dbvisit Standby with the resynch option.
dbvisit -R w1202

Then schedule Dbvisit Standby with this command on both the primary and new standby servers:
/usr/local/dbvisit/dbvisit w1202

A step by step guide to this process is also available here:
https://dbvisit.atlassian.net/wiki/d...ndby+Databases

Last edited by Chris.lawless@dbvisit.com; 09-21-2014 at 02:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2009, 06:24 AM
ckolik ckolik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default How about a local standby instance?

Great information. Reading through the documentation I see, "but it is also possible to have a standby database on the same node as the primary database". Does Dbvisit Standby work with local standby databases (standby on same server as primary)? If so, are there any particular settings or tricks to getting this to work as I thought that the scripts check that SOURCE and DESTINATION are different before proceeding.

Thanks!

Last edited by Mike Donovan; 07-12-2011 at 05:35 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:48 AM
Mike Donovan Mike Donovan is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 207
Default RE: How about a local standby instance?

Hi Ckolik,

Thanks for your question. Yes, it is possible to have a local standby database.

Standby databases are normally located on different standby servers, but it is also possible to have a standby database on the same node as the primary database, called a shadow environment. This shadow database can be used to investigate issues like database bugs or inconsistencies that arise on the primary database. This allows the primary database to continue to run risk free while the issues are investigated on the shadow database.

The approach outlined above is the best way to go about setting up one of these environments. The third step in the documentation referenced above for this process says that if any of the other standby database settings are different, these must be edited as well. The variables that can be changed are:

ORACLE_SID_DEST*
ORACLE_BASE_DR
LOGDIR_DR
ARCHDEST
MAX_TIMES_TRIED
LEAVE_COMPRESS_DEST
ADD_DATAFILE

The key point for a shadow (local standby) environment - a standby database on the same node as the primary database - is that the ORACLE_SID_DEST must be different to the ORACLE_SID - so you must alter this accordingly.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-01-2009, 09:05 AM
Arjen Visser Arjen Visser is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 381
Default RE: How about a local standby instance?

Further to the information from Mike, the following needs to be set for a local standby database (on the same server as the primary database):

SOURCE=set_to_dummy
DESTINATION=actual_server_name
ORACLE_SID=sid
ORACLE_SID_DEST=standby_sid
ARCHDEST=<location of oracle primary archive log files>

The ORACLE_SID_DR is set to the standby database name and this needs to be different from the actual ORACLE_SID of the primary database otherwise you will not be able to create another instance.

With these settings, when Dbvisit Standby is scheduled it will apply archive logs to the standby database. Dbvisit Standby will not try to transfer any log files. To ensure that it works, it is important to ensure that ARCHDEST is set to the location where Oracle writes the archive log files for the primary archive log files.

SOURCE is set to a dummy value. It does not matter what this is.
DESTINATION is set to the actual server name.

Last edited by Mike Donovan; 07-12-2011 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-2009, 03:29 AM
ckolik ckolik is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Excellent. Thank you both for your quick response!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +12. The time now is 07:22 PM.