Dbvisit Community Dbvisit home       

Go Back   Dbvisit Community > Dbvisit Standby - Technical > Dbvisit Standby - 'How Do I' Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:40 AM
jamie.gadong jamie.gadong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default Primary to Standby to Standby

Hi to all,

I have a quick question that someone may be able to answer?

I know you can run dbvisit such that for a given primary database you can have more than one physical standby, and I know that the log shipping would go from the primary to each of these standbys, but is it possible for logs to ship to standby 1, then standby 2 be updated from standby 1 rather than the primary, keeping the extra load off the primary server?

Thanks to all who reply.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:42 AM
Arjen Visser Arjen Visser is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 380
Default

Hi Jamie,
Currently Dbvisit Standby does not support cascading standby databases so this is not possible.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:50 AM
jamie.gadong jamie.gadong is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default

Hi Arjen,

I am aware of this now being available "cascading" in the latest release of Dataguard.

Can you think of anyway of making this work in Dbvisit. I have been toying with the idea of having two standby's one acting as DR and the other opened on occasion and then creating a standby from this. I understand that this would be a pretty unreliable way of doing it but was going to give it a go in a test environment. Have you or your team ever attempted it?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-26-2012, 02:58 AM
Arjen Visser Arjen Visser is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 380
Default

Hi Jamie,

If you opened one of the standbys as a full read-write database (failover), then it would be possible to create a new standby from this. But if it is only opened as read only (still a standby database), then it is not possible.
The reason is that Dbvisit has a repository in the primary database to keep track of the whole process (creation, transfer, log gaps etc) and this is only writable in a primary database and not a standby database.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +12. The time now is 10:14 PM.