Dbvisit Community Dbvisit home       

Go Back   Dbvisit Community > Dbvisit Replicate - Technical > Dbvisit Replicate - Setup

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-06-2012, 08:00 AM
bigjocker bigjocker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default Amazon RDS and access to target database

Hi,

We're evaluating DBVisit Replicate to migrate one of our production databases to Amazon RDS with Oracle (we are DBVisit Standby customers). RDS instances are isolated machines that cannot be accessed via SSH (we can access only via port 1521), so no software can be installed locally.

Is there a way to use DBVisit replicate in this scenario? I've checked the user manual and it requires the installation of the DBVisit Replicate software on both source and target machines, but this is not possible under Amazon RDS.

We can set up a second server on the Amazon cloud, that has access as a client to the RDS instance (full sqlplus access via tnsnames.ora), but the SYS and SYSTEM accounts are a little limited.

Is this a supported environment for DBVisit Replicate?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2012, 10:02 AM
Arjen Visser Arjen Visser is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 381
Default

Hello,

Yes this is a supported environment. The steps to making this work are:
1. Setup a second server in Amazon AWS. Install Dbvisit Replicate on this server and this will run the APPLY process. This will have access to the RDS instance through tnsnames.ora
2. As the SYS and SYSTEM accounts are limited, you can create a new DBA account in the RDS and use this account when the Dbvisit Replicate setup wizards asks for SYS and SYSTEM.
3. Install Dbvisit Replicate on your source server on premise and run the setup wizard as per normal.

We will document this more fully in the near future.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:01 AM
Mark Ripma Mark Ripma is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Reasons for RDS?

You mention that you are considering RDS for one of your production databases. At Dbvisit we are evaluating our approach to RDS (we are an AWS partner).

Would you be willing to share your reasons for considering RDS and, if you do migrate, whether you will then have a hybrid situation (both Cloud and on-premise) with a continuing need for replication activities between installations and databases?

What additional tools could Dbvisit develop that would make your conbined on-premise and cloud database environment easier to manage and more productive?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

--Mark
Mark Ripma
AWS Marketing for Dbvisit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2013, 04:02 AM
Mark Ripma Mark Ripma is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default Reasons for RDS?

You mention that you are considering RDS for one of your production databases. At Dbvisit we are evaluating our approach to RDS (we are an AWS partner).

Would you be willing to share your reasons for considering RDS and, if you do migrate, whether you will then have a hybrid situation (both Cloud and on-premise) with a continuing need for replication activities between installations and databases?

What additional tools could Dbvisit develop that would make your conbined on-premise and cloud database environment easier to manage and more productive?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

--Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +12. The time now is 02:09 AM.