Dbvisit Community Dbvisit home       

Go Back   Dbvisit Community > Dbvisit Standby - Technical > Dbvisit Standby - 'How Do I' Questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2012, 06:52 AM
christophers christophers is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 10
Default Using dbvisit to upgrade to 11g.

I am trying to think of creative ways to upgrade to 11g with minimal downtime.

Is it possible to have the primary database at 10g and the standby at 11g? then when the time is convenient switch to the standby database?

Thanks
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2012, 08:21 AM
Arjen Visser Arjen Visser is offline
Dbvisit Team
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 380
Default

Hi Chris,

This is unfortunately not possible with Dbvisit Standby because there is too much difference in the redo log format between 10g and 11g. This is an Oracle limitation with the physical standby database.

It is possible to do this with Dbvisit Replicate. That is one of the features it was designed for - zero downtime migration. Dbvisit Replicate will work across Oracle versions but also across platforms. So you can go from Oracle 10g on Solaris to Oracle 11g on Linux.

For more information and to download Dbvisit Replicate, please see here: http://www.dbvisit.com/products/dbvi...e_replication/

Regards,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +12. The time now is 05:28 AM.